Tik Tok To The Rescue…Again

It was just another day, doom scrolling (as you do). And a video of a woman popped up, where she was saying, “your body is telling you what you’re missing.” I almost scrolled away, assuming this was another if you crave carbs and pasta you have daddy issues situation, but I continued to watch.

She elaborated, “If you have this symptom, you’re likely deficient in this vitamin. This symptom is this vitamin, and these symptoms are this vitamin.”

Hey now, that’s the kind of information we’re looking for here. *like, save to favorites, check comments*

The top comment was “Ugh, of course you’re just selling something.” Well I for one actually want to know what she’s selling. I’m out here looking for anything that can help improve my quality of life. So I followed the link in her bio to this website:

https://go.enableyourhealing.com/program-info-dysautonomia

“What we find often is that patients are being treated for symptoms individually. It is important to note how much the medical community misunderstands [dysautonomia], but also how understandable it truly is. It usually takes the medical community up to 70 years to establish a treatment protocol for a condition, and this condition was only properly diagnosed in 1990.

So right now, even with a proper diagnosis of long-Covid, POTS or dysautonomia the available treatments don’t restore one back to full ability. It is not enough to simply increase your salt, rest, wear compression stockings or build up a conditioning exercise. We need to look at the body as a whole.”

Woah. There are options past simply attempting to manage symptoms??? The idea that POTS and dysautonomic conditions can be healed (not just survived), grabbed onto me. I read through all the information on their website multiple times, and signed up for the free waitlist phone call – what could it hurt?

I won’t go into all the ins and outs of my decision making process, but I will say this: I’m extremely sensitive to and wary of MLM type BS; the health gurus who have found the “magic bullet which cures everything”; and “holistic medicine” which isn’t backed by science or research (don’t, don’t drink borax, please. please). Everything that I found about this program, the conversations I had during the consultation phone calls, was surprisingly green flag after green flag.

Ultimately, I decided to register for the twelve week “Rebels Rising” program. It’s expensive, but both my husband and I felt that if there was any chance I could get myself back by doing this, it would be more than worth the money.

One friend, when I was describing the program to her said, “it sounds like you’ve joined a cult” – to which I responded “I would join an actual cult if it meant I could feel better.” And that’s what living with chronic illness for years does – it brings you to a point of desperation where you’ll try anything.

I just finished my second week in Rebels Rising, and already I’m seeing improvement in my symptoms (primarily the fatigue, brain fog, and depression). Two weeks of lifestyle and diet changes. Already this program has been worth every penny, and I am thanking the algorithm gods for bringing Mary Ruddick across my fyp.

I’ll get into more details of the program next time, but for now I really want you to enjoy the absolutely serious (and wildly absurd) things this “spiritual guru” said about carbs and dairy.

Leave a comment